2009 Setley Cup and Seahorse Trophy Junior Model Yacht Regatta

Once again Setley Pond was crowded on Boxing Day for the annual Junior Model Yacht Regatta. As in previous years boats came in all shapes and designs, from classic shop-bought monohulls to multihulls fabricated out of drinks bottles. There was a very similar number of entries in each Category this year - 18 Mono-hulls and 17 Multi-hulls. Competitors and spectators alike were greeted with brightish skies and a fresh gusty South West wind.

The gusts on the water make for tricky sailing at times suiting some and capsizing others. Rupert Stock and his crew in the rescue boat were kept busy especially between races recovering those that could not make the crossing.

Hector Hurst was probably one of the unluckiest with his super "Seahorse" catamaran, rushing into an almost unassailable lead with 2 firsts and a second only to fail to finish in the last two races and having to count an 18th to finish 4th overall, so back to the drawing board with his Dad Andrew it is.

Six races were completed with one discard. The top two Mono-hulls were on equal 10 points but "Robyn 2" sailed by Connie Stock just pipped with three firsts Andrew Inman with "Robber" to the post, to win the Setley Cup, with third place going to last years winner to Esme Woodington with "Planet".

In the Multi-hull class "Rascal" sailed very consistently by George Russell dominated the event with two firsts and three seconds to win the Seahorse Trophy, followed by last years winner "Maxicat" sailed by Amy Clark and one point behind her was Matthew Gill with "Don't Know" in third place.

Once again many thanks to the main finishing team of Robin Markes, Chris Baldwick, Chris Neve and Ado Jardine and our recorder Jane Pitt-Pitts.

Final Results (top five) were :-

Setley Cup (Monohulls)

1nd Connie Stock - Robyn 2 2nd Andrew Inman - Robber 3st Esme Woodington - Planet 4th Chris Inman - Fortune from Tip 5^{th=} Simon Inman - Min Special 5^{th=} Olivia & Thomas Mitchell - Accomplice

Seahorse Trophy (Multihulls)

1st George Russell - Rascal 2st Amy Clark - Maxicat 3rd Matthew Gill – Don't Know 4th Hector Hurst - Seahorse 5th Callum Morris – Callums Racer

Photographs by Michael Derrick